Skip to content
July 27, 2011 / laurakschwartz

Growing

New York has been incredible. I still can’t believe I’m here! I have been experiencing a lot of “firsts”  here in NYC. For example, tonight in the subway I was heading down the stairs in a rush because I saw my train had already arrived. I needed to get on it, or else wait for another 10 minutes. I barely got my right foot over the threshold when the doors to the train slammed shut, my leg wedged between them. Then the doors repeatedly opened and slammed back on me a couple of times before I was able to squeeze my little body into the can with all the other sardines. This made me feel like a real New Yorker. I’ve seen many people get stuck in the subway doors trying to force themselves onto an already full train car. Today, that was me!

So much about New York is tough, chaotic, and overwhelming, yet on the other hand, there is so much excitement, inspiration, and growth. I’ve got a lot going on between my current classes and thinking about my future. I need to find a job, a new apartment, and figure out what my next step is for my education. So much to do!

Things have been going well at school.I am learning so much, and my professors are total studs at what they do. Each one is brilliant, articulate, and knows exactly how to challenge you. I couldn’t ask for a better place to study art. Here are some projects I’ve been working on:

This looks a little weird because it’s the first layer of a painting I’m doing based on a Hillbillie I found playing the banjo in the Times Square subway station. It has a long way to go. But, this way you can see the progress!

First draft in color

First completed painting of the semester.

Landscape of Riverside Park

 

Self Portrait Drawing

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Jul 27 2011 12:39 AM

    Sounds like you are having an awesome time! You should paint me a picture for Christmas. Please!! Love You!

Leave a Reply

